Saturday, 19 April 2014

Book Review: The Memory Witch - Heather Topham-Wood

SynopsisTen years ago, Quinn Jacobs’ mother made a bargain with a local witch - steal away Quinn’s memories from the first eight years of her life and in return, Quinn would spend a year in servitude to the witch.

On Quinn’s eighteenth birthday, she’s forced to leave her home and friends behind. For the next year, she’ll live at Chadwick House, learning everything she needs to know about being a spell-caster. As her powers grow, Quinn begins to unravel the secrets of the past and the reason her mother was so desperate to conceal the horrifying truth. (Taken from Goodreads)

Review - I won this eBook in the UtopYA authors give-away in December 2013.

Heather Topham -Wood is the author of the Second Sight series published in 2012 and The Disappearing Girl in May 2013.  This is the first novel in The Memory Witch trilogy published December 2013.

This YA novel deals with the usual issues surrounding mid-late teens.  It is a tale which holds the reader under its spell.  Quinn happily dating her rich boyfriend suddenly finds that the life she leads has to come to an end.  That sounds a bit final, but lets say it's put on hold for a year.  And at the end of that year she will have learnt new skills which could change the course of her life.  We have upheaval, separation from her family and friends.  Quinn also has to delay her plans to go to college, plans which included continuing to see her boyfriend regularly.  Suddenly, Quinn learns that she has to spend a year away living with a strange old lady and her nephew against her will.  To make matters worse she learns that this is a promise her Mother made to this lady ten years ago.  Naturally, Quinn wants to learn the truth and when she does, how will she deal with it?  Will she abide by the rules of her new craft?  To find the answer to that question you will have to wait for the second book in this trilogy.  I look forward to reading more in this series.  4*

Kindle edition: ASIN: B00HB67IWY
Paperback: ISBN-13: 978-1939173614

Blog Archive